Everybody Loves Tortellini Soup

It’s close to dinnertime and I have nothing ready…help!  Does this happen to you, too?  Well, my fall back is a much loved tortellini soup.  I always have frozen tortellini and chicken broth in my kitchen for a time like this.  Here is my quick and easy recipe for a family of four to six (leftovers can be refrigerated and enjoyed for lunch on another day):

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 Tablespoon minced garlic

1 of each, diced:  zucchini, carrot, onion

1 cup fresh spinach

1-1/2 quarts of chicken broth

1 can diced tomatoes

1 teaspoon dried basil

Salt and pepper to taste

1 package of tortellini (meat or cheese filled)

Heat olive oil in a medium pot.  Add garlic, onion, zucchini, and carrot and saute for 8-10 minutes.  Add chicken stock, spinach, tomatoes, basil and salt/pepper.  Increase the heat and bring to a boil.  Add the tortellini and when boiling returns, lower to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes.  Serve with shredded parmesan.  Soup’s ON!!

12 responses

    • I’m glad you like it! Last night when it was 5p and I had absolutely NOTHING planned for dinner, this soup came to mind and VOILA! It took less than 30 minutes to get it on the table for my family to enjoy!

  1. Never thought to put zucchini or spinach in my chicken broth! Sounds delish will definitely give it a try! our grandma and the aunties would be sooo proud! Love you and hope all is well1

  2. I plan on making your tortellini soup for my family. Let’s see if i can convert my picky eaters….I’ll take a small victory like you. Thanks Lynn and great job on your blog!!!

  3. Lynn,
    Just picked up the Tortellini soup from my Mom’s…..DELICIOUS!!! I will definitly make this and I look forward to all of your healthy recipes…..trying to get back to my healthy eating….you are an inspiration!

  4. Lynn,
    YUM…… It was delicious! I shared with my daughter Michelle. It was so easy to make.
    Thanks for this wonderful site!

    Thanks with a hug….

    Annette in Texas 🙂

  5. Hi Lynn, My family loved the tortellini soup!! I increased the amount of veggies making it more like a stew and even my picky eater enjoyed it. I look forward to more healthy and quick meal ideas.
    Great job Lynn!
    Peggy O’Reilly

Leave a Reply

