Oatmeal Trifecta: Muffins

I am a big fan of oats. Early in my career, I conducted research with a cardiologist studying the cholesterol lowering effects of oatmeal and oat bran.  This grain is amazing!  This week I will post three of my favorite oatmeal recipes.  Today I start with the same recipe I used in the original oatmeal study…Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins.  Not only are these easy to make but they have a terrific flavor and texture and contain 2.5 grams of fiber.  For muffins with a finer texture, the oatmeal may be blended in a food blender or processor before mixing with dry ingredients.

2 cups oatmeal

¾ cup all purpose flour

½ cup firmly packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoons cinnamon

½ teaspoon salt

2/3 cups skim milk

3 Tablespoons vegetable oil (I prefer canola)

1 egg

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Line 12 medium muffin cups with paper baking cups. Combine dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.  Add combined milk, oil and egg; mixing just until moistened.  Gently stir in blueberries.  Fill muffin cups almost full.  Bake 20-22 minutes or until deep golden brown.

These muffins freeze well if you want to store some for future enjoyment.  But, I’ve never had any leftover to save!!

Leave a Reply

