Oatmeal Trifecta: Granola

Here’s our second winner!  Granola with oats, coconut, Grape-Nuts, sunflower seeds, dried fruit and nuts.  Delicious as a snack or a satisfying breakfast when topped with yogurt and berries.  This recipe was given to me by my dear friend & fellow dietitian, Jane.  Here it is:

6 cups oatmeal

1 cup shredded coconut

1 cup Grape-Nuts cereal

3/4 cup nuts (almonds/pecans/cashews)

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup cooking oil (I prefer canola)

1/3 cup water

1-1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup dried fruit (we use Craisins)

Combine the first 5 ingredients.  Combine other ingredients (except dried fruit).  Pour over cereal mixture.  Mix to coat well.  Spread onto 2 greased baking sheets and bake at 325 degrees for 30 minutes.  Stir every 10-15 minutes.  Cool.  Add dried fruit.  Store in air tight container.  Makes 11 cups.

The smells in your kitchen while the granola is cooking will easily attract your entire family from all corners of your house!!

4 responses

  1. I am eating the delicous granola you gave us as I am looking up your recipe, cuz I have to make some more, I may not be able to leave any for the kids!! Love it! browsing your other recipes and I think I am set for the next two weeks. Tomorrow is chicken tortilla soup and then the quinoa holiday side. Who needs a cookbook, I have you! Thanks so much! Thanks for inspiring me Lynn.

  2. My daughter and I really enjoyed your talk on balance yesterday at the Benet Mother/Daughter lunch and we both LOVED the granola! It’s already gone so I’m glad to see the recipe posted here! Thank you Lynn!

    • Thank you for your kind note, Kecia. I am so glad you enjoyed both the presentation and granola. The recipe makes 11 cups and will keep in a sealed container for at least a week or two. Please remember to cool it completely before storing. Happy Granola Making!

Leave a Reply

