Flaxseed: My Muffins’ Secret

These are the lemon poppy-seed muffins we enjoyed for breakfast this morning.  They were made from a Betty Crocker box mix.  I followed the recipe as written and included my secret ingredient, ground flaxseed.  Flaxseed offers great fiber, antioxidants, and omega-3 fatty acids.  It is this nutritional profile that gives flaxseed a potential role in fighting heart disease, cancer and diabetes. For a more thorough report on flaxseed’s nutrition and health benefits, check out this article from WebMD.

Where do I buy flaxseed?  It’s widely available in grocery stores and health food stores.  The flaxseed needs to be ground if purchased as whole seeds (whole flaxseed can be ground in a coffee mill and stored in an airtight container). 

What makes it secret?  No one notices.  Not even my picky eater.  I aim for up to 1 tablespoon per serving of whatever I am making.  For a 12 muffin recipe, I added 1/2 cup (6 tablespoons) to the muffin mix.   I’ve also been known to add it to smoothies, instant oatmeal, and yogurt. 

I’m really not good at keeping secrets!

3 responses

Leave a Reply

