Slow Cooker Sunday: Chinese Five-Spice Pork

I was working at home the first day I made this dish.  The aroma was so enticing, I couldn’t wait to try it and ate my dinner before anyone else arrived home!  Please know that I did leave enough for the rest of the family and they have all asked for me to make it again.  I’ve definitely learned not to make it on a work-at-home day!

Chinese five-spice is an unique blend of flavors, most commonly:  fennel, cinnamon, star anise, Szechuan peppercorns, and cloves.  This recipe was adapted from one in a recent issue of Family Circle magazine:

¼ cup reduced sodium soy sauce

¼ cup honey

2 tablespoons hoisin sauce

4 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tablespoons chopped ginger

1 teaspoon Chinese five-spice powder

2 pounds pork tenderloin (or boneless, center-cut pork roast)

1 cup chicken broth

1-1/2 cup shredded carrots

3 scallions, thinly sliced

3 cups steamed brown rice

In a small bowl, whisk together soy sauce, honey, hoisin, garlic, ginger, and five-spice powder.  Coat slow cooker with cooking spray (I use Pam).  Place pork in bowl and top with sauce.  Pour the chicken broth around the pork, trying not to disturb the sauce on top.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  (The meat will shred easily with a fork when done.)  Shred the meat in the bowl with two large forks and mix shredded meat with sauce.  (I did add about ½ cup more of chicken broth to the finished dish).  Serve on top of rice and garnish generously with carrots and scallions.

8 responses

  1. After you demonstrated this dish at the class at Spice Merchants last week, I couldn’t wait to try it at home. I made it the other day, and we all loved it. It was so easy and flavorful. I served it with a cabbage salad. My son is already asking when I’ll be making it again!

  2. Pingback: Recipes to Make you Feel Like a Queen for the Day « Playing With Fabric

  3. Delicious meal! I made it with a 1.5lb boneless pork loin with very little fat, I cooked it on Low for 3.5 hrs, probably could have cooked for less time, next time I will try 3 hrs. It fell apart with the forks. I poured the remaining sauce into a pan with a little corn flour to thicken it a little, combined the pork with the sauce, carrots, scallions and served on top of Pad Thai brown rice noodles, with broccoli on the side. Everybody loved it!

Leave a Reply

