Stuffed Mushrooms with Broccoli Pesto Quinoa

This week I taught my first class at Marcel’s in Glen Ellyn.  Please check my calendar for upcoming classes and a link for registration.  This first class was called ‘Amber Waves of Grain’ and we had fun exploring the versatility and nutrition of whole grains.  All of the grains were gluten-free:  quinoa, buckwheat, and brown rice.

How do you like my white jacket?  (Thanks for the pic, Mel!)

The recipe I used for the quinoa dish was the same recipe I’ve posted here as Quinoa with Broccoli Pesto.  I just stuffed this quinoa into roasted mushrooms.  They are very tasty as an appetizer, salad or side dish.

Here’s how to make these delicious mushrooms:

2 pounds large button mushrooms, cleaned and stemmed

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

Salt and freshly ground pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Place mushrooms on a baking sheet (I line mine first with parchment paper- thanks to my friend Anna who got me hooked on parchment paper!!).  Toss with olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper.  Arrange mushrooms round side up and roast for 20 minutes until mushrooms are soft and slightly brown around edges.  Allow these to cool enough to handle (or store in fridge for later assembly).  Stuff generously with Broccoli Pesto Quinoa.  Serve immediately.  Enjoy!!

5 responses

  1. Way to go Lynn! You look sooo cute in your chef’s jacket. perfect for you! the recipe looks amazing and I know you were amazing! hope you had fun. can’t wait to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

