Fresh Basil Pesto

My mother has shared her abundance of fresh basil with me. I’m so happy!  Her summer basil plants always do better than mine.  I’m just glad she knows that I LOVE fresh basil.  I use it for salads and sandwiches but I will also make as much pesto as I can from her healthy plants.  I use pesto as a spread on sandwiches and wraps, on pasta, in dips and in a new recipe, Pesto Stuffed Baked Pork Chops, that I’ll share with you later this week.

My pesto recipe is below.  If you don’t have enough basil to pack 2 full cups, you can pack 1 cup of basil and 1 cup of fresh baby spinach.  It’s delicious either way!

Fresh Basil Pesto (makes 1 cup)

2 cup fresh basil leaves (packed)

1/2 cup pine nuts

1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

3 cloves garlic, minced

Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste.

1/4 cup EVOO

Blend first 4 ingredients in a food processor.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Slowly drizzle the olive oil to blend.  Adjust oil amount as needed for proper consistency.  Enjoy!

7 responses

  1. Thanks Lynn. Another great recipe. Do you know if it is possible to freeze pesto? I love this time of year with all the fresh basil but would love to have a stash for a dark winter dinner.

    • Yes! I’m glad you asked because pesto freezes well in sealed containers. What’s best is if you can estimate how much you’d use, then freeze that amount in individual containers so you don’t have to defrost the entire batch. That’s what I’m doing to enjoy pesto throughout the winter!

  2. One other idea: don’t add the cheese if you are freezing the pesto. Typically, add it after you thaw it to use. Once you freeze in the ice cube trays, just pop them out into a freezer bag, and then take out the ones you want to use; thaw in the fridge and then add the cheese. You’ll have “fresh pesto” all winter.

Leave a Reply

