Tortillas!

There are many Myplate2yours recipes that call for tortillas: Egg Taco, Bean and Cheese Quesadilla, Chicken FajitasFish Tacos, and Carne Con Salsa.

The crazy thing about having so many recipes using tortillas is that I have NEVER EVER made a tortilla.  I just buy a package at the store.  How crazy is that?  Well, all of that changed this past August, in Comayagua, Honduras.  Comayagua is my family’s summer destination where we spend a week at an orphanage.  We always look forward to that trip!  One afternoon during our visit, I was in the yard playing with the kids when I noticed some women working outside the kitchen on what looked like a wood burning stove.  I walked over to see what was going on and YES, they were making corn tortillas!  They had already finished filling one large basket with tortillas (pictured above) and were starting to fill a second.  I asked if I could help and they graciously agreed.  After a few mishaps- deformed tortillas, ripped tortillas, and- regrettably- a dropped tortilla- I did get the hang of tortilla making.  The proof is in this video…its 1-1/2 minutes long…enjoy!!

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/49685187″>Tortillas!</a&gt; from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user9343940″>myplate2yours</a&gt; on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

7 responses

  1. I am a friend of Rachel Green’s and I believe we have met! I loved the video. Thanks for sharing. Being in Texas I actually did try making them and to my surprise it was so easy. Why I don’t do it more often, I’m not sure!

    I would love to hear more about the trip you take to an orphanage each year. That is something I would love to do with my family or alone in the near future.

    Kim Taylor

Leave a Reply

