Happy Birthday!

Birthdays are one of my favorite things to celebrate.  Whether it’s for someone in my family or a friend, it’s a chance to celebrate that person in my life.  In fact, this month we have celebrated two birthdays in my family, including my own (I do have the reputation of celebrating all month)!  It’s a tradition at our house to have the dinner of your choice served on a special birthday plate that says “Happy Birthday, It’s Your Special Day!”  Of course, our birthdays center around food.  Recent family birthday dinners have included: Stuffed Zucchini Italian Style, Salmon Pesto Pasta, and Colorful Chicken Cacciatore.  (As for me, I choose to go out for dinner!).

Well, today is Myplate2yours’ first birthday.  It was just a year ago when I wrote my first blog post.  The only followers then were family members and a few friends.  Now, with 131 posts and over 650 followers, we celebrate the first birthday of Myplate2yours.  During this year, I hope you have found Myplate2yours recipes easy to make and ones your family has enjoyed.  I also hope that in a small way, I’ve encouraged you to make some nutritional enhancements to your diet that can help you and your family for a long time to come.

Today, can you help me celebrate by sharing this site with some friends?  The buttons below can help you share on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest and through email.  My gift to you is a recipe I made for a recent family birthday dinner:  Grilled Asian Flank Steak.  Thanks for celebrating with me!

Grilled Asian Flank Steak (serves 6)

¾ cup soy sauce

¼ cup sesame oil

2 tablespoons white vinegar

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 teaspoons sugar

2-3 green onions, sliced thin

2 pounds flank steak, lightly scored against the grain in crisscross pattern on both sides

Mix marinade ingredients together in a large measuring cup.  Place flank steak in a glass container and pour marinade over meat.  Marinate in the refrigerator for 1-6 hours.

Heat grill on high.  Place steak on a hot grill and cover for 4-6 minutes, per side, turning at the mid-point.  Cook to medium rare.  When finished, remove the steak from the grill and place on a cutting board.  Tent foil over meat and let rest for 5-10 minutes.  Thinly slice meat by cutting across the grain.  Serve immediately.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

