myplate2yours

February is Heart Month sponsored by the American Heart Association.  This month is meant to educate all of us on what we can do to live heart-healthy lives.  Here is the bad news:  heart disease is the leading cause of death for both men and women in the U.S.   But the good news is this: there are steps we can take to prevent heart disease.  Here is the American Heart Association’s Life’s Simple 7 for keeping your heart healthy:

PLEASE READ ON…THIS LIST CAN BE LIFE-SAVING!

1.  Get Active~ 30 minutes a day at least 5 days a week can reduce your risk of heart disease.  Aerobic exercise for your heart includes walking, jogging, swimming and biking.  Pick something you like and do it regularly.

2.  Control Cholesterol~ Your first step is to know your number.  It’s best to keep total blood cholesterol levels less than 200 (mg/dl).

3.  Eat Better

View original post 262 more words

2 responses

  1. Lynn……I am “living my second life” thanks to medical technology and to God’s decisions. I am a heart attack quadruple bypass survivor. Not everyone is this lucky. A lot of people with my condition don’t make it and die before they can be operated on. With my new arteries, I feel 20 years younger. I am now very conscious that it was my very bad life decisions that got me to the operating table – bad eating habits, no exercise and being overweight. As you say, heart disease is preventable. Sadly too many of us don’t get that message until we suffer a near death experience. I am respectful of my new life and have changed what I eat and do totally. I am 30 pounds lighter for which my heart and clothes thank me. I eat right and go to gym 5 days a week.My whole life has turned around as a result of what I do. Trust me, if you try and pet a scorpion, it’s going to sting you. And, you will never pet one again due to the pain, or because you died. Better yet is to follow what others have said about scorpions…and heart disease. I admire your work and effort to try and keep us healthy….and, alive. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

